Posted on

Restless Nights

If you care to know, which I’m sure you don’t, for the past few nights I’ve been going to bed feeling extremely restless.  I have a pretty good idea why, and if you really want to know, just keep reading.

Thanks for visiting the dark corners of my mind, those of you who don’t want to know.  Come back soon, or not.  You actually didn’t even really get inside my mind.  You kind of stood on the doormat, but left before I answered the door.  You pretty much ding-dong-ditched my brain.  How does that make you feel?

If you’re still reading, you don’t have to answer that question.  Back to my restless sleep.  The reason why is simply because I have a dream.  Not a dream you have when you’re asleep, and much more than a daydream.  This dream is more comparable to that of Martin Luther King Jr. (ish).  I have a dream that one day I will be in an awesome band with awesome guys that I will become my best friends.  I have a dream that we will tour the U.S. (or world, even) and spread love, hope, and the message of Christ through our music.  I have a dream that I will be able to write and play music for a living.  I have a dream that I will get to do what I have been dreaming about for years.

I’m restless at night, because I can’t stop thinking about it.  I know that the next morning I’m going to have to wake up and get ready for school.  While taking Music Theory and even “Recording Practicum” among many other music courses is great, as they no doubt will help me become a better musician, I can’t help but be extremely jealous of artists who got signed straight out of high school.

They* always say that you should never give up on your dreams, and that is exactly what I am doing.  I know that I may not be meant to be in a touring band, or in a band at all.  I just haven’t accepted it yet.

Don’t stop believin’!  I guess I’m talking to myself here, aren’t I? 

I know things will work out if I put my trust in God.  If you feel like me, do the same and let’s discover this together.

“Trust in the LORD, and do good; so shalt thou dwell in the land, and verily thou shalt be fed.

Delight thyself also in the LORD: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

Commit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.”

                                                    – Psalm 37: 3-5 (KJV)

*In no way do I endorse the collective viewpoint or all the things that “they” have said by quoting “them” in this blog.

-NJG

 

Leave a Reply

